Useful information & tips Olympic Games Tokyo 2020

Useful information & tips

AIRPORT ACCESS TIPS

Japan has multiple international and local airports across the islands. Please find the best access from/to the airport you will be flying into/from here.

STORIES AND GUIDES

Explore Japan’s vast cultural, eating, drinking and shopping scenes. Learn about different aspects of Japanese culture, find out where the best city shopping spots are, and brush up on bathing, drinking and dining etiquette. Read up before your trip and learn about Japanese manners and customs, what to expect, how to budget your travels and find out more about the shopping centers in Japan's largest cities. Here you can explore in-depth guides about food and culture, and get useful tips and travel hacks, so you can eat, drink, shop and navigate Japan like a pro.

LANGUAGE

Japan's official language is Japanese, but English is generally understood in major cities and designated tourist sites.

WI-FI & CONNECTIVITY

Wireless hotspots are popping up all over major cities in Japan, so you should never be too far from a Wi-Fi connection.

VISA

Canadian passport holders do not require a tourist visa for stays up to a maximum of 90 days. Japanese officials will photograph and fingerprint all visitors upon arrivals.

PASSPORT

Your passport must be valid for the expected duration of your stay in Japan. If you plan to travel to other countries in the region, check passport validity requirements for the countries you plan to visit. Japanese regulations require that visiting foreigners give detailed information when checking in at hotels or other lodging facilities and foreigners must allow their passports to be photocopied. You must carry your passport at all times. Police officers in Japan have the authority to ask for you identification documents at any time. Failure to comply could lead to detention or arrest. If you passport is lost or stolen, you should report this at a police station and get a police report – You can also liaise with the Canadian Embassy in Tokyo: 2 7-3-38 Akasaka, Minato-ku, Tokyo 107-8503, Japan.

TRAVEL INSURANCE

We strongly recommend that all participants arrange for their own travel medical insurance coverage prior to departure. Emergency Medical travel insurance from Manulife insurance provides coverage for unforeseen medical emergencies that can occur when travelling. They also offer Trip Cancellation insurance which protects against financial losses if a prepaid trip needs to be cancelled before you leave due to a covered reason. Visit this page to get a quote on travel insurance for your trip (this travel insurance is only available for Canadian residents).

If you need emergency medical assistance during your trip, dial 119 and ask for an ambulance. You should contact your insurance/medical assistance company promptly if you are referred to a medical facility for treatment.

MEDICATION

The use or possession of some common prescription over-the-counter medicines are banned under Japan’s strictly enforced anti-stimulant drugs law. This includes Vicks inhalers, medicines for allergies and sinus problems, cold and flu medication containing Pseudoephedrine and even some over-the- counter painkillers like those containing codeine. Foreign nationals have been detained and deported for offences – ignorance may not be considered a defense.

Further information is available via www.mhlw.go.jp/english/topics/import.

VACCINATIONS

No special vaccinations are required for foreign travelers entering to Japan.

VOLTAGE/OUTLETS

The voltage in Japan is 100 Volts, which is different from North America (120V), Central Europe (230V) and most other regions in the world.

Japanese electrical plugs have two non-polarized pins.

SAFETY

Crime levels are low. It is generally safe to walk about at night and to travel on public transport, but you should maintain the same level of care you would at home and take sensible precautions.

As Japan is in a major earthquake zone, we recommend familiarizing yourself with safety procedures in the event of an earthquake or tsunami, and take note of instructions in hotel rooms and train stations.

CURRENCY

Japanese currency is called the yen, denoted by ¥.

Coins come in denominations of ¥1, ¥5, ¥10, ¥50, ¥100 and ¥500 and bills come in denominations of ¥1,000, ¥2,000, ¥5,000 and ¥10,000.

Japan is mainly a cash society and you may have difficulty using credit and debit cards issued outside Japan. Cirrys, Maestro, Link and Delta cash cards are not widely accepted.

TIPPING

Tipping is not common practice in Japan, so attempts to do so will often be met with confusion.

LOCAL CUSTOMS

Tattoos in Japan have a historical association with organized crime, and while attitudes towards them are increasingly accepting, many public swimming pools, hot springs, beaches, and some gyms do not admit anyone with tattoos. Other establishments may simply ask that any tattoos to be covered up while using facilities.

It is customary to remove your shoes when going indoors. If there is a change in the level of the floor at the entrance, this is an indication that you should remove your shoes. After removing your shoes, you should line them up on the lower side of the floor or on the shoe shelves, if available.

While many shops and restaurants do not require you to remove your shoes, some restaurants, such as those where guests sit on mats on the floor, will require you to remove your footwear. It is considered bad manners to show your toes, so plan to bring (or be wearing) socks. Learn more about Customs & Manners in Japan https://www.japan.travel/en/plan/customs-manners/

SHOPPING

"Tax Free" shopping is available at many stores in Tokyo for non-residents. You are required to show your passport with your entry stamp to be eligible.

WATER

Tokyo's tap water is safe to drink and conforms to strict quality regulations.

CLIMATE AND WEATHER ADVICE

Please check out the following link to give you some helpful information about weather and geography in Japan: https://www.japan.travel/en/plan/weather/

ACCESSIBILITY

All the Games' venues, facilities, infrastructure and services provided for the Olympic Games will be fully accessible. The urban development plan of the Tokyo Metropolitan Government includes barrier-free roads around competition venues and tourist facilities, which are expected to be completed by 2020.

Train and bus operators are now upgrading their facilities with the aim of making Tokyo a city with one of the most accessible public transport networks in the world by 2020.

Already more than 90% of stations in Tokyo have step-free access, universal access toilets, tactile paving to assist the visually impaired. Follow this link for more details https://www.japan.travel/en/guide/accessibility-in-japan/

Informations utiles & astuces Jeux olympiques de Tokyo 2020

Useful information & tips

Conseils pour l'accès à l'aéroport

Le Japon possède plusieurs aéroports internationaux et locaux sur l’ensemble de son territoire. Vous trouverez ici le meilleur accès de/vers l'aéroport de/vers lequel vous voyagerez.

Histoire et guides

Explorez les vastes scènes culturelles, gastronomiques, de dégustation et de magasinage du Japon. Apprenez les différents aspects de la culture japonaise, découvrez où se trouvent les meilleurs endroits pour faire du magasinage en ville, et rafraîchissez vos connaissances sur la façon de se baigner, de boire et de bien manger. Avant votre voyage, renseignez-vous sur les us et coutumes japonais, à quoi vous attendre, comment budgéter vos voyages et en savoir plus sur les centres commerciaux des plus grandes villes du Japon. Ici, vous pouvez explorer des guides approfondis sur la nourriture et la culture, et obtenir des conseils utiles et des astuces de voyage pour pouvoir manger, boire, magasiner et se promener comme des pros au Japon.

Language

La langue officielle du Japon est le japonais, mais l'anglais est généralement compris et parlé dans les grandes villes et les sites touristiques.

Wi-Fi et connectivité

Des points d'accès sans fil ont fait leur apparition dans les principales villes du Japon. Vous ne serez donc jamais trip éloigné d'une connexion Wi-Fi.

VISA

Les titulaires d'un passeport canadien n'ont pas besoin d'un visa de touriste pour les séjours d'une durée maximale de 90 jours. Les autorités japonaises photographieront tous les visiteurs à leur arrivée et prendront leurs empreintes digitales. on arrivals.

Passport

Votre passeport doit être valide pour la durée prévue de votre séjour au Japon. Si vous prévoyez voyager dans d'autres pays de la région, vérifiez les exigences de validité du passeport pour les pays que vous prévoyez visiter. La réglementation japonaise exige que les étrangers en visite fournissent des informations détaillées à leur enregistrement à l'hôtel ou dans d'autres établissements d'hébergement et que les étrangers permettent que leurs passeports soient photocopiés. Vous devez avoir votre passeport sur vous en tout temps. Au Japon, les policiers ont le pouvoir de vous demander des documents d'identité à tout moment. Le non-respect de ces conditions peut entraîner une détention ou une arrestation. Si vous perdez votre passeport ou qu'on vous le vole, vous devez le signaler à un poste de police et obtenir un rapport de police - Vous pouvez aussi communiquer avec l'ambassade du Canada à Tokyo : 2 7-3-3-38 Akasaka, Minato-ku, Tokyo 107-8503, Japon.

Assurance voyage

Nous recommandons fortement à tous les participants de souscrire leur propre assurance médicale de voyage avant leur départ. L'assurance voyage pour soins médicaux d'urgence de Manuvie couvre les urgences médicales imprévues qui peuvent survenir en voyage. Ils offrent également une assurance annulation de voyage qui vous protège contre les pertes financières si un voyage prépayé doit être annulé avant votre départ pour une raison couverte. Visitez cette page afin d'obtenir une soumission d'assurance voyage pour votre voyage (cette assurance voyage est disponible seulement pour les résidents canadiens).

Si vous avez besoin d'une assistance médicale d'urgence pendant votre voyage, composez le 119 et demandez une ambulance. Vous devriez communiquer rapidement avec votre compagnie d'assurance ou d'assistance médicale si vous êtes dirigé vers un établissement médical pour recevoir des soins.

Médicaments

L'utilisation ou la possession de certains médicaments sur ordonnance en vente libre sont interdites en vertu de la loi japonaise sur les médicaments anti-stimulants, qui est strictement appliquée. Cela comprend les inhalateurs Vicks, les médicaments pour les allergies et les problèmes de sinus, les médicaments contre le rhume et la grippe contenant de la pseudoéphédrine et même certains analgésiques en vente libre comme ceux contenant de la codéine. Des ressortissants étrangers ont été détenus et expulsés pour des infractions - l'ignorance ne peut être considérée comme une défense.

De plus amples informations sont disponibles via www.mhlw.go.jp/english/topics/import.

Vaccins

Aucun vaccin spécial n'est exigé pour les voyageurs étrangers qui entrent au Japon.

Tension / Prises électriques

La tension au Japon est de 100 volts, ce qui est différent de l'Amérique du Nord (120V), de l'Europe centrale (230V) et de la plupart des autres régions du monde.

Les fiches électriques japonaises ont deux broches non polarisées.

Sécurité

Le taux de criminalité est faible. Il est généralement sûr de marcher la nuit et de voyager dans les transports en commun, mais vous devez maintenir le même niveau de soins qu'à la maison et prendre des précautions raisonnables.

Le Japon se trouvant dans une zone sismique importante, nous vous recommandons de vous familiariser avec les procédures de sécurité en cas de tremblement de terre ou de tsunami et de prendre connaissance des instructions dans les chambres d'hôtel et les gares.

Devise

La devise japonaise s'appelle le yen, dont le symbole est ¥.

Les pièces sont disponibles en coupures de 1¥, 5¥, 10¥, 50¥, 100¥ et 500¥ et les billets en coupures de 1.000¥, 2.000¥, 5.000¥ et 10.000¥.

Le Japon est principalement une société de caisse et vous pourriez avoir de la difficulté à utiliser les cartes de crédit et de débit émises à l'extérieur du Japon. Les cartes Cirrus, Maestro, Link et Delta ne sont pas largement acceptées.

Pourboires

Le pourboire n'est pas une pratique courante au Japon, donc les tentatives de le faire seront souvent accueillies avec confusion.

Coutumes locales

Les tatouages au Japon ont une association historique avec le crime organisé, et tandis que les attitudes à leur égard sont de plus en plus acceptées, de nombreuses piscines publiques, sources thermales, plages, et certains gymnases n'admettent personne avec des tatouages. D'autres établissements peuvent simplement demander que les tatouages soient recouverts au moment de l'utilisation des installations.

Il est coutumier d'enlever ses chaussures quand on entre à l'intérieur. S'il y a un changement dans le niveau du plancher à l'entrée, c'est une indication que vous devriez enlever vos chaussures. Après avoir retiré vos chaussures, vous devriez les aligner sur la partie inférieure du plancher ou sur les étagères à chaussures, si possible.

Bien que de nombreux magasins et restaurants n'exigent pas que vous enleviez vos chaussures, certains restaurants, comme ceux où les clients sont assis sur des tapis au sol, exigent que vous enleviez vos chaussures. On considère qu'il est mal élevé de montrer ses orteils, alors prévoyez d'apporter (ou de porter) des chaussettes.

Magasinage

Les non-résidents peuvent faire leurs achats sans payer d'impôt dans de nombreux magasins à Tokyo. Vous devez présenter votre passeport avec votre étampe d'entrée pour être admissible.

Eau

L'eau du robinet de Tokyo est potable et conforme à des normes de qualité strictes.

Conseils sur le climat et la météo

Veuillez consulter le lien suivant pour des informations utiles sur la météo et la géographie au Japon: https://www.japan.travel/en/plan/weather/.

Accessibilité

Tous les sites, installations, infrastructures et services fournis pour les Jeux olympiques de Tokyo 2020 seront entièrement accessibles. Le plan de développement urbain du gouvernement métropolitain de Tokyo comprend des routes sans obstacles autour des sites de compétition et des installations touristiques, qui devraient être achevées d'ici 2020.

Les opérateurs de trains et de bus modernisent actuellement leurs installations dans le but de faire de Tokyo une ville dotée d'un des réseaux de transports en commun les plus accessibles au monde d'ici 2020. Déjà, plus de 90% des stations à Tokyo disposent de toilettes à accès universel et de pavés tactiles pour aider les malvoyants.

Suivez ce lien pour plus de détails https://www.japan.travel/fr/guide/accessibility-in-japan/